Political Representatives for 


Elections: More info from the Georgia Secretary of State's office

Atlanta.vote – City of Atlanta has a website geared toward Atlanta voters – Atlanta.vote

U.S. Senate

  • Jon Ossoff (Democrat)
  • Raphael Warnock (Democrat)

U.S. House of Representatives 

  • 5th District: Nikema Williams 
    • Washington phone, 202-225-3801
    • Atlanta phone, 404-659-0116

Georgia Senate

Georgia House of Representatives

City of Atlanta

Atlanta City Council

The Atlanta City Council consists of 16 members: one elected from each of 12 districts, three elected at large, plus the Council president elected citywide.

Piedmont Heights is in District 6.

  • Contact Atlanta City Council404-330-6030
  • President: Doug Shipman, Atlanta City Hall, 404-330-6052, dshipman@atlantaga.gov
  • District 6 Council Representative: Alex Wan
    404-330-6049 | awan@atlantaga.gov
    Chief of Staff, Lance Orchid - lrorchid@atlantaga.gov
    District 6 website 
    Sign up for the District 6 email newsletter
    Read previous editions of the District 6 email newsletter 
    City Council Committees
    • Committee Chair: Finance: Meets twice monthly on weeks without a Full Council Meeting on Wednesdays at 1:30 PM
    • Committee Assignments: 
      • Transportation: Meets twice monthly on weeks without a Full Council Meeting on Wednesdays at 9:30 AM
      • Committee on Council: Meets twice monthly on weeks without a Full Council Meeting on Mondays at 11:00 AM


    Committee on Council focuses on City Council operations. There may be an opportunity to add an eighth committee to enable us to better focus on such issues as housing affordability, youth development, and sustainability.


    The Transportation Committee recommends on matters pertaining to transportation, generally, including the Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority (MARTA). One of its main functions is overseeing the Department of Aviation which operates Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, the world’s busiest airport. The Transportation Committee also has purview over the Department of Transportation, whose task it is to perform traffic studies, install traffic signage and traffic calming devices throughout the city, etc.  This assignment will allow Councilmember Wan to continue pushing on the various infrastructure projects that the voters authorized in both the 2015 Renew Atlanta infrastructure bond and the 2022 Moving Atlanta Forward referendum dollars voters approved. Councilmember Wan will also be pushing the various infrastructure repair projects that the neighborhood associations compiled last year.


    The Finance/Executive Committee recommends on matters pertaining to the budget and to transfers of appropriations; the administration of taxing ordinances and to public revenue; tax officials and collectors; the Department of Finance; the executive branch of government, specifically components in the Department of Administrative Services relating to purchasing functions of the city; the Department of Personnel and Human Resources; operation of the Office of the Mayor; Office of Contract Compliance and Intergovernmental, International and Diplomatic Affairs. As returning Chair, Councilmember Wan will continue to provide oversight for the City’s financial performance and lead City Council’s evaluation process for the budget for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2023.

  • At Large: Matt Westmoreland, 404-330-6302, mwestmoreland@atlantaga.gov 
    • Committee Assignments: Community Development/Human Services, Finance/Executive, and Zoning.
  • At Large: Michael Julian Bond, 404-330-6052, MBond@atlantaga.gov 
    • Committee Assignments: City Utilities, Public Safety, and Zoning. 
  • At Large: Keisha Sean Waites, 404-330-6041, kwaites@atlantaga.gov
    • Committee Assignments: Community Development/Human Services, Public Safety, and Transportation

Atlanta Alcohol License Review Board


Fulton County Commission 

Seven members make up the Fulton County Commission: two at large, including the Commission chair, and one elected from each of the five Fulton County districts. Piedmont Heights is in District 3.

Neighborhood Planning Unit

The city is divided into a number of neighborhood planning units (NPUs). Piedmont Heights is in NPU-F. NPUs serve as the neighborhood’s conduit to the city planning department and make recommendations about zoning, long-range planning, and other issues.

  • NPU-F meets at 7:00 p.m. on the third Wednesday of the month.

Thank You to Our Sponsors!

Major Neighborhood Projects

Upcoming events

PiHi News

PiHi in the News

Contact Us

Piedmont Heights Civic Association
1579 Monroe Dr. NE, Ste. F307
Atlanta, GA 30324